Author Topic: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder  (Read 1111 times)

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • Administrator
  • Master Builder
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
  • Karma: +37/-2
  • The fat dude
    • View Profile
(Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« on: March 29, 2017, 10:13:13 AM »
Please find below the initial unboxing and review of the Dremel 3D40 Idea Builder printer.



This is aimed to be one of the easiest printers to use.. Have a watch of the video to see how it turned out.



I'll be doing a more in depth review in a few weeks time once I've played with it a bit more.

Thanks,

Steve
« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 07:25:39 PM by CdRsKuLL »
If you use any of my designs and can afford to donate to help pay for this site and the filament, or just buy me a beer then please click on the link below, enter an amount and donate what you want.


Offline CdRsKuLL

  • Administrator
  • Master Builder
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
  • Karma: +37/-2
  • The fat dude
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 12:27:07 AM »
Just letting you all know the Dremel is in 'da house'.. but I'm not for the next 2 weeks. So I'll be doing the review when I get back.  I've not even opened the box as I'm saving it.. but it does look nice from the pictures on it.. lol
If you use any of my designs and can afford to donate to help pay for this site and the filament, or just buy me a beer then please click on the link below, enter an amount and donate what you want.


Offline Busted44

  • Elite DIY RC Supporter
  • Junior Designer
  • ******
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2017, 08:34:23 PM »
Just letting you all know the Dremel is in 'da house'.. but I'm not for the next 2 weeks. So I'll be doing the review when I get back.  I've not even opened the box as I'm saving it.. but it does look nice from the pictures on it.. lol

so does a Macdonalds hambuger when you look at the menu  ;)

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • Administrator
  • Master Builder
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
  • Karma: +37/-2
  • The fat dude
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 11:42:25 PM »
So very true busted.. lol   I'm about 75% done editing the video review now. I just need to record a couple more menus and I'm hoping for a release this weekend. 

I printed a tree frog out after I did the review... not kidding it's really good!  Photo attached below.  I'm just printing Groot out now, and again blown away by the quality of the print.  If you look at the frogs chin where you would normally get a few strings because of the over hang.. nothing on this frog, its perfect!

When I printed the frog it pulled the builders tape off, so I'm just trying hair spray on the glass and so far.. so good :-)

The question is.. knowing what I know now I don't think I would of purchased my XYZ 1.1 Plus but at the time you didn't have much choice in the cheap enclosed market. Not sure if this dremel would of been an option because of the price but I can't knock the print quality and I can see why it's priced as it is with the UK customer support etc you would expect!  Going to try some PETG in it soon.. see if I can break it.. lol
« Last Edit: April 25, 2017, 11:46:37 PM by CdRsKuLL »
If you use any of my designs and can afford to donate to help pay for this site and the filament, or just buy me a beer then please click on the link below, enter an amount and donate what you want.


Offline Busted44

  • Elite DIY RC Supporter
  • Junior Designer
  • ******
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2017, 02:14:49 AM »
You have been busy, nice work on the video.

Cheers
Dave

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • Administrator
  • Master Builder
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
  • Karma: +37/-2
  • The fat dude
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2017, 06:52:44 PM »
Thanks Dave, they will get better too :-)

I decided to give it a decent test this morning and loaded up a light saber.. well all the parts on the same bed. Normally I would just do it STL at a time.. but I thought that's not a test!   So I'm about 9 hours into a 16 hour build now. Still going well. 

Photo is of the build at about 5 minutes..
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 07:30:08 PM by CdRsKuLL »
If you use any of my designs and can afford to donate to help pay for this site and the filament, or just buy me a beer then please click on the link below, enter an amount and donate what you want.


Offline CdRsKuLL

  • Administrator
  • Master Builder
  • *****
  • Posts: 769
  • Karma: +37/-2
  • The fat dude
    • View Profile
Re: (Review) Dremel 3d Printer The Idea Builder
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2017, 08:29:35 AM »
Well...  The light saber print failed at about 11 hours into a 16 hour build. 

Looking at the parts the Y axis motor either missed steps or the belt jumped OR something i must consider.. little fingers opened the door and decided to cause a stop against the moving head.  Either way I'm keeping my eye on the prints now. If it happens again I'll be calling customer support to see if they can advise anything.

All will be in the full review anyway.   I might try the saber again in smaller parts this time.
If you use any of my designs and can afford to donate to help pay for this site and the filament, or just buy me a beer then please click on the link below, enter an amount and donate what you want.