DIY RC

Do It Yourself RC => 3d Printed Inspire Clone => Inspire Build Diaries => Topic started by: Inspire.clone on January 03, 2016, 04:35:44 PM

Title: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 03, 2016, 04:35:44 PM
First of all a MASSIVE thank you too CdRsKuLL aka Steve
You have brought to the 3D Printing and Multi Flying community an awesome Project, the time and patience you must have put into this project is beyond words "Amazing"


So from me and I am sure the rest of the membership. ThankYou and Respect.


Well just a brief outline and then I will come back to this and publish pictures and a full itemised build shortly.


I had already started to print another inspire clone which is out on the interweb. I had struggled for months trying to get the parts too print correctly. I was never very happy with the canopy prints and was thinking how amazing it would be to be able too use the original canopy parts.
So after a great deal is stress, hassle and furstration. I decided the Mark 1 printed drone should be scrapped. It was not so ceremoniously thrown into a box, next stop will be the File 13, more commonly known as the bin.


Feeling rather deflated after all the hours spent, I opened Google and Typed " Inspire Clone using original parts" to my utter amazement the first three threads were from this forum...


YIPEE and I hurriedly started too read this forum.


My mind was made up yet again and not being able too sleep, I immediately searched for the original parts. Got them ordered by 3:30am and then started too review build threads and see if I could gleen any info. The details some have gone to describe issues and solutions is inspiring, No Pun intended. Theses are my two printers,


On the left a Velleman K8200 which I have built a case for and modified the Hotend with a E3D v6
I have also upgraded the heated bed and adding auto-levelling


On the right is an XYZ Da Vinci 1.0. Again added an E3D v6 Hotend and installed Repetier 0.92 which makes it an all together far more enjoyable printer.


More too follow

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 01:39:06 PM
Ok


First of all make sure you have your printer calibrated and working good. I know this is just common sense but I fell foul of my printers a few times.


I printed most of the parts using no Supports and a mixture of 40% infill for none stressed items and 100% infill for parts that clearly would be under stress ie clamps for the main legs. Top & Bottom Brackets for the arms. I think a good guide is too think about how the parts are fitted. I printed a few parts and then once fitted they just split. I eventually worked out that even once printed the parts need to be inspected and using a rotating sander in my Dremel, 3mm drill bit and a straight Burr all parts can be made to be a perfect fit. When installing the Bearings/ brass top hats they need to be a sliding fit, if you need to use too much pressure this can and usually does break out in the part once fitted


NB make sure the parts fit closely to the CF tubing or other items. Any such additional Plastic residue puts extra strain on the parts and can lead too failure
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 02:27:33 PM
Then it's a process of printing the parts and ordering the extra components. I choose a majority of black bolts and nyloc nuts, again in black. Make sure you get the servo with a metal final drive. The first one that arrive came with a nylon final drive. This almost instantly pulled apart when attached to the Flexible coupler.


I have reused the two picture below as I found them the easiest too understand. So Praise goes to the original owners of them


A BIG ThankYou too rcfiddy for the diagrams below.


Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 02:43:40 PM
Before getting too involved with this stage of the build. I would suggest getting the micro switches installed. This is a relatively easy process. Each Microswitch needs 3 wires. + positive, - negative & signal wire. I joined the Positive and Negative wires together and had a separate signal wire for each. This reduced wires from 6 to 4.


Wiring code


Red - Positive
Black - Negative
Green - Lower Microswitch
Brown - Upper Microswitch
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 03:15:58 PM
Position of Microswitches

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 03:17:08 PM
As you will see from the picture below, instead of having a 2mm nut on the surface of the part, I drilled the opposite side to the Microswitch to take a captive nut, this made for a neater install
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: rcfiddy1 on January 04, 2016, 09:34:27 PM
NICE BUILD!
Hope those instructions helped. I tried to make them easy to understand. CDRskull did an amazing job designing this build. If you need help feel free to ask.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 09:38:05 PM
NICE BUILD!
Hope those instructions helped. I tried to make them easy to understand. Steve did an amazing job designing this build. If you need help feel free to ask.


Thank you rcfiddy. I have just completed the first stage the build. Electronics too follow
I will be updating this build with the details from others and myself which I used too get this project built.......
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 10:10:17 PM
Update


All the information required too build this project is included in the members posts. It is just a case of reading, reading and reading. A lot of members have included pictures which clearly are worth a thousand words.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 04, 2016, 10:26:09 PM
This is where I am, the electronic installation is . I'm hoping for a fully loaded Inspire, OSD, LED's
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on January 16, 2016, 01:17:45 PM
Very nice build you have there.. Like the idea of the different coloured support legs :-)

Looking forward to seeing it in the air..

Steve
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 16, 2016, 09:39:22 PM
UPDATE


Well today moving onto the electronic install. i have tried to figure away of installing but being able too dismantle should any repairs bee needed.


I think I have solved it


Picture 1
I have attached the connector for the LED to the negative from the ESC, extended the positive wire so it connector to the Nano
and I have a two pin connector to attach the LED, which will allow me too remove should i need to.


Picture 2
shows the LED with simulated two wires, will be connected later


Picture 3
The other half of the connector for the LED power


I hope this is almost self explanatory




 
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on January 17, 2016, 12:51:34 PM
Todays Task


Today I decided to attempt the programming of the Arduino Nano, after being sent a video link by rcfiddy1 on YouTube


https://youtu.be/yw2k--OJ0To (https://youtu.be/yw2k--OJ0To)


a quick watch of that and I felt ready too proceed.

I opened Arduino 1.5.8 and in the open sketch box, I removed all text and pasted CdRsKuLL's sketch to that box.

Connected the Arduino Nano Board and allowed windows too load drivers and assign a port.

In the IDE program under Tools, I set the following

Board - Nano
Processor - ATmega328 (printed on the chip on the board)
Port - COM9 (assigned by windows)

Clicking the compile button, IDE returned an error. (Fatal error: PinChangeInt.h: No such file or directory compilation terminated. Error Compiling)

Looking through the electronics thread, Page 4 Post #58, this linked me to the https://code.google.com/p/arduino-pinchangeint/downloads/list (https://code.google.com/p/arduino-pinchangeint/downloads/list) I downloaded the only non beta version and copied the contents to C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\PinChangeInth(PinChangInth) being the folder name.

Clicking Verify a second time and the Arduino program completed the process. Then I clicked the upload and the sketch was saved to the Nano.... Verified by watching the LED flash rapidly on the Nano

YIPPEE!
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 01, 2016, 10:45:32 PM
Finally got the wires run within the CF tubing. While installing them, found some of the parts I printed using ABS were not as strong as Hoped and so have reprinted them using PLA which as cured the problem. You live and learn, luckily my modified Da Vinci 1.0 can print almost every type of filament


Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 06, 2016, 09:49:06 PM
Well, what can I say.
I almost had the Clone in a position to add the motors and fly. Then in a moment of madness, I dismantled it completely to give it that finished look.


As you can see by the pictures below. The first is with the wires as they appear when first installed, not being content with that, the second is when they have had a protective covering and I think will make the finished Clone that much more finished
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 06, 2016, 09:58:08 PM
Today, I also managed to get the Arduino Nano reprogrammed after an error in my part. I think I should have taken advise from a close friend, measure twice, cut once.
In my case. Check diagram and solder once. I made a school boy error and had to purchase a new Nano. I have the wire attachments as below. Next will be too add connectors
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 07, 2016, 10:46:16 AM
SUCCESS!


After being given advise about the excessive play in the Frame, I decided I would try and elevate the problem. So I purchased of eBay one of these,


http://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/191681261504


I know from "Hing Fong" (check sellers address) but I wasn't in any rush, it arrived and the main problem is the Grub Screws on the 6mm end are too far away from the edge, to make a good secure connection to the servo. This is ware you will need some basic engineering skills. Not too difficult as it is made from Brass.


After not so careful measuring, I drilled a pilot hole 3mm ish nearer the end. The opened it up using the appropriate sized drill. Once both holes were drilled, I tapped the holes and the grub screws inserted perfectly. This now allows me to connect to the servo as in the pictures


95% if not more play removed


Hope this helps
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 09, 2016, 01:01:42 AM
Further progress


Today I continued with the wiring. My aim is to make it as neat as possible and all wiring hidden as much as possible within the Canopy.

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on February 09, 2016, 07:30:51 AM
Looking good. Although I designed the wires to come out the other way so the connector was at the front.  I did this so you can progtram it without removing everything other than the nose piece.. But if that works for you then I'm pleased.

Love your wire harness covers.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 09, 2016, 10:30:42 AM
Looking good. Although I designed the wires to come out the other way so the connector was at the front.  I did this so you can progtram it without removing everything other than the nose piece.. But if that works for you then I'm pleased.

Love your wire harness covers.


Hi Steve


Thank you for the compliments, I understand your design. I had a plan of installing a short purpose made link cable so I would not need too even remove the nose cone too program. Although removing the board would not be a major task. I have already programmed the Nano.......


Should be close to a maiden shortly.


Have been looking at these for poser
http://www.radioc.co.uk/EMAX-MT-4114-Multicopter-Motor-340KV-p/2021.htm


They produce a massive 5.2lbs of thrust each. At 340KV, just wondering if these would prolong the flight time? Any advise welcomed


Regards

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 10, 2016, 02:58:30 PM
Finally finished the wiring and am able too dismantle with little if any trouble
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 10, 2016, 03:01:24 PM
With Canopy nose cone fitted
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 10, 2016, 03:16:09 PM
This morning I moved onto the propulsion


Finally being able too weigh the clone, I was a little shocked and amazed that it only weighs 2.4kgs MAUW inc. Motors


I chose EMAX MT 3510 Motors and after a lot of calculations these are the figures and possible flight time





Ok here is the Maths


Clone AUW 2400grams, 4 motors (2400g / 4 = 600g per motor)


In the table 590g is 4amps x 4motors = 16amps draw too fly


Battery used is a 4S 5000mah Lipo


5Ah / 16 x 60 = flight time of 18.75 Minutes
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: rcfiddy1 on February 10, 2016, 08:41:46 PM
According to ecalc with a 14 inch prop you will see 6-7 mins. That's with a 30a esc, your weight and motors.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 10, 2016, 08:45:45 PM
I have never had much success using ecalc.


I have some of these MT 3510 in a Tarot 690Pro an ecalc stated it should fly for 3-4min. Using the same formula as above the results were around 8.3 mins. It actually flies for 10ish minutes on a full charge.


But hey, we live and learn. So long as it flies I will report back
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: rcfiddy1 on February 10, 2016, 08:59:39 PM
Yea, I didn't get good results at first but I finally was able to and my tarot 650 build was almost exactly to ecalc.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 14, 2016, 10:31:29 PM
Panic......


Not quite sure what I have done wrong. Connected power for the first time today. All seemed well. The body lifted but then stopped. Could still hear the servo glitching. Looking through the forum I tried the swapping 4-5 & 5-4, all this did was reverse the servo direction. This time when it got to the bottom it stopped, changing the gear switch it rose about a inch and then stopped, and wouldn't rise any further. The original way it got to the top, the servo seemed to be trying to continue, gear switch did nothing, the LED's stay constant and flash when the switch is activated.

So I'm lost, may tried dismantling and doing a bench run, thought I was doing so well......

Any help guidance greatfully received





Regards.


Stuart
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on February 15, 2016, 10:02:44 PM
Hi fella,

The pins work on a signal, either + or -. It may be the case that it's receiving the opposite to what it thinks it is. You can alter this in the code to try.  Swap the HIGH to LOW .. If this was the case it would move the servo when your press the microswitch rather than stop. Use a screwdriver if you do this so you don't squash your finger. :-)

Steve
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 15, 2016, 10:32:14 PM
Hi


Thank you Steve for your reply, however things went from Bad to Catastrophe. I removed all the electronics to do a bench test. Turned on the power magic smoke, servo burnt out, nano burnt out and Power reduction board, over heated and Boom! Lol


I think I'll go back too basics and do a rewrite, I wasn't 100% happy with some of my connections. This way, I have ordered some redundancy in parts lol.......


Take two too follow..... Once the fire brigade leave :-)
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on February 15, 2016, 11:35:33 PM
Oh dear.. double check your not shorting out + and - when you close the mircoswitch.. I think I'll change the wiring for the next one which I made a bit of a start on today. Still got moving legs but a whole different setup and no DJI parts.. All printable to keep the cost down.. Won't be for a few months mind so you have plenty of flight time yet :-)
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 15, 2016, 11:43:37 PM
Thank you Steve


We live n learn. I am going to redo most of the electronics and reposition a few things. I think I found one error. I used double sided tape to hold the power reduction board in place. I fear it conducted power from + & - or as you say shorted...... All good fun.


I also notice that while reading threads that within the sketch for the nano. In one the D4/D5 is one way and in a separate diagram they are reversed. Can you confirm.


Regards
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on February 15, 2016, 11:56:33 PM
The pin 4 / 5 relates to the top / bottom microswitch.. I have to admit I got a bit confused which was which when I wired mine up. I played with the code that much that when I got it working I forgot where I started from, hence might of got them mixed up.

You can serial monitor whats going on within the code when it's running through the arduino software so I would wire the microswitchs up but not connect the servo. Insert some code like bottom MS and top MS which will help you identify which ones clicked. I can add these for you if you want so you can see?

Steve
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 16, 2016, 12:00:29 AM
Thank you Steve


Any assistance you can do would be greatfully accepted.


I am not an arduino expert. And have never serial monitored !!!


Therefore I feel out of my depth. I may revert to my Mistress Google


Regards


P.S a quick google and here we are
http://www.instructables.com/id/HOW-TO-use-the-ARDUINO-SERIAL-MONITOR/

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 16, 2016, 05:13:54 PM
Some members have asked about printing and which filament too use, here are my observations


So when deciding on which filament too use, firstly try too imagine the stresses and forces applied to that part.


I have ended with a mixture of ABS & PLA parts, mainly anything that needs to move is not PLA, and stationary cosmetic parts are ABS.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on February 25, 2016, 05:01:46 AM
well, this project as stalled. Two reasons


Firstly, I have an intermittent fault on my printer, so printing replacement parts is a definite Jo. No for now. Think I may have tracked the fault to wiring. the total bain of my life.


Secondly, the wiring for this clone is driving me way past nuts. I have followed the schematics with due diligence but all to no avail. Two burnt out Servo's, one damaged Nano and a fried PRB. Or maybe not......


So I'm not sure, if I should be on the back burner or this project.....


Any help, advise would be very greatfully received


S
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on February 25, 2016, 06:23:36 AM
Where about are you? I would be more than happy to take a look at it for you  if you're local. I'm near Bolton.
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on March 30, 2016, 08:00:00 PM
Have you tried just connecting it up to the receiver directly and seeing what is does? This at least will let you know if its the servo or the wiring?
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on March 30, 2016, 08:01:35 PM
Yes


I have a servo tester and the servo worked perfectly


Thank you
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on March 30, 2016, 08:41:04 PM
Are your microswitch's on connectors? can you disconnect them to test to see what happens?
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on March 30, 2016, 09:10:18 PM
No the MS are hard soldered. I'm thinking of dismantling again and doing board layout to do the tests. Then if everything works I will the reinstall it. Luckily I have most parts on connectors now.....

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 03, 2016, 12:22:23 PM
PROGRESS!


After exchanging an email with Steve. I was pointed into the right direction. I had used the wrong PinchangeInth files. I downloaded the correct ones and reflashed the Nano. That corrected the juddering but I now have another small problem, the servo only rotates with the Microswitches closed. The servo doesn't move otherwise. Anyone able to check or redraw the nano diagram. Something tells me it may not be correct


Anyone able too confirm this........
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on April 03, 2016, 04:40:57 PM
You can just reflash the nano but swap round the pin 4 and 5 in the code.. That will do it. :-)
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 03, 2016, 04:43:55 PM
Thank you Mate, very kind. I'm just finishing watching the Grand Prix. Then will go and give it a try...




Soooooooo close. Once I have this sorted. It's just a need too tidy and maiden
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 03, 2016, 05:27:01 PM
Right, I have just swapped 4 & 5 over. Reflashed the Nano and restarted


This is now what I have.


Turn Tx on, power Rx


Change Gear switch, nothing happens
Press one Microswitch, the servo rotates, release the Microswitch, it stops rotating.


Change Gear Switch, nothing happens
Press the other Microswitch and the servo rotates the other direction
Release it stops.


If I now swapped NC & NO on both Microswitches do you think it would cause the servo to operate until the switch was triggered?


I must be so close, I'm now just confused.com
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 03, 2016, 07:42:56 PM
YIPEE,


I have done it. Took a step back and thinking about it. I needed to do two things, firstly change 4 & 5 within the sketch produced by Steve. Then I needed to swap the wires over  from NC & NO. Tried it again and everything works as it should, I am now just so happy.......


Thank you Steve for your kind assistance


I can now finish the electronic install and do the final setup..... Once installed I shall write an upto date setup for the Leg moving electronics


It is now so very exciting
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 04, 2016, 12:22:05 PM
well that was short lived.

Testing last night it all works fine. the 360 servo had a plastic connector, so changed it for a towerpro modified 360 and it rotates very jerkily...... im now at a loss. the servo on my tester works perfectly. attached to the nano. it doesnt. to say I am at a loss is the understatement of the century, no Millenium

any suggestions?

HELP!

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 04, 2016, 02:15:55 PM
I've just swapped to a different make of servo and it now works. The tower pro 995r modified didn't work

Can anyone suggest a servo that works without any modifications? I've now tried several TowerPro 995 MG all to no avail. They rotate smoothly for about a second and then go jittery. I'm wondering if it's todo with the arduino speed settings or dare I say code.


I really have no clue

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 05, 2016, 12:13:07 AM
After much reading and cross referencing, I think I may have found the problem, a Fake TowerPro servo. So I have ordered a genuine one and will report back
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 05, 2016, 01:25:42 PM
YAY! My suspicion was correct, have just installed a genuine TowerPro 995 metal geared servo and it works perfectly. Have just redrawn the Microswitch wiring and will upload shortly.


The main wiring diagram is correct, but the Sketch needs to 4 & 5 swapping as detailed in another post.


So using the diagram, the sketch adjustment and the Microswitch diagram. Your build will progress first time......
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 09, 2016, 12:04:53 AM
Almost there, just a little more setup and tidying


Video


https://www.dropbox.com/s/daj8ye4b43ifnae/File%2008-04-2016%2020%2038%2030.mov?dl=0

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: ajmorris on April 09, 2016, 01:10:48 AM
Looks good. I am just at the wiring stages so your diagram should help a ton.  Thanks!!


Andy

Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: Inspire.clone on April 12, 2016, 02:44:40 PM
Hi very close too completion now. One last question


When measuring the Naza GPS position for inputting into the DJI assistant. As the FC cannot be on the C of G. I'm a little confused where too measure it from, the actual craft C of G, or ???.


Any advice?


Regards
Title: Re: My Inspire 1 Clone Build
Post by: CdRsKuLL on April 12, 2016, 10:54:19 PM
hi,  I think I just measured it in relation to where the naza sits.  I can't remember the exact settings to be honest but I'm sure someone will chip in and help you out.