Author Topic: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)  (Read 8334 times)

Offline Kananga

  • Designer
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #75 on: March 13, 2019, 12:23:42 AM »
Whats the big black box in your pics? Oh, it's your receiver, my bad.

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #76 on: March 13, 2019, 07:37:30 AM »
Whats the big black box in your pics? Oh, it's your receiver, my bad.

indeed, the receiver. but I ordered a smaller one. the thing is that with this I should manage to get telemetry on my transmitter, on the small one not. but the mall one I could put in the nose of the mavic. So I'm still in doubt... Will see if I manage to get the telemetry or not...

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #77 on: March 13, 2019, 07:38:51 AM »
Ok, those two holes were grouped together and dimensioned as one at 1.5mm radius.
I've split them to two dimensions making them both 1.5mm radius individually.
I can't see why it will make a difference but see if it solves it, the holes measure the same on screen so my only idea is that the group dimension is somehow confusing your slicer.
Let me know if it's worked, I haven't changed anything else.

thanks! I'll try.

Offline BerniApple

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #78 on: March 17, 2019, 05:49:04 PM »
OK, so GPS, sonar and LEDs working and configured! YES!


Next step was to check if I could connect the cam, but there I'm completely stuck...

The Foxeer Legend 2+ has 4 cables coming out (2 black, 1 yellow and 1 red) (https://www.banggood.com/Foxeer-Legend-2-F2_8-155-Degree-Wide-Angle-12MP-HD-WiFi-Camera-For-FPV-Racer-Drone-p-1053384.html?rmmds=myorder&ID=224&cur_warehouse=CN):
  • I suppose one ground (black)
  • one positive (red)
  • one video (yellow or black?)
  • and one audio (yellow or black?)

The FPV-transmitter (https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-VTX03-Super-Mini-5_8G-72CH-025mW50mw200mW-Switchable-FPV-Transmitter-p-1114206.html?rmmds=myorder&cur_warehouse=CN) has:
  • a pos & neg IN (towards my FC to get 5V I suppose?)
  • and a pos&neg&sign (yellow) OUT (towards the cam; just need to figure out which one on the cam is the video and which one the audio)


If I'm right I only need to connect those on the mavic and install the Go FPV-app of the FPV-receiver (https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-ROTG02-UVC-OTG-5_8G-150CH-Dual-Antenna-Audio-FPV-Receiver-for-Android-Tablet-Smartphone-p-1242422.html?rmmds=myorder&ID=224&cur_warehouse=CN). Is that right? But how do I connect the FPV-receiver to the FPV-transmitter? Only long pressing so it scans all frequencies?

No other connection to be made with the FC but the pos and neg of the FPV transmitter?

But I could also hook up via the foxeer-app directly and control the foxeer without all that if I'm not mistaken. That goes over Wifi. Just tried it, and it seems to work fine. Moreover, I can control when and where to take pictures and videos directly from my smartphone.

My FC (https://www.banggood.com/Upgrade-NAZE32-F3-Flight-Controller-Acro-6-DOF-Deluxe-10-DOF-for-Multirotor-Racing-p-1010232.html?rmmds=myorder&ID=17&cur_warehouse=CN) has no integrated OSD if I'm right (only connectors for it > 4 cables on UART1 > +,-,TX,RX). Or can I connect my camera directly to that OSD (grd,5V and TX or RX for video; no audio than??)?

Thanks for any help on this.

how did you wire the GPS? I bought the NZ one but can't set it up
thanks

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #79 on: March 17, 2019, 07:10:05 PM »
Dear BerniApple,

On my FC (SP Racing F3 Deluxe) I just needed to wire UART2 like in attachment. Black to black, red to red, yellow from UART2 (3) to the orange from the GPS, and green from UART2 (4) to the blue wire from my GPS.

Inside my house, I don't get a fix, but in iNav I see it is working. When I put the drone outside, I quickly get a fix.

Hope this helps!

Offline BerniApple

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #80 on: March 17, 2019, 09:23:35 PM »
Dear BerniApple,

On my FC (SP Racing F3 Deluxe) I just needed to wire UART2 like in attachment. Black to black, red to red, yellow from UART2 (3) to the orange from the GPS, and green from UART2 (4) to the blue wire from my GPS.

Inside my house, I don't get a fix, but in iNav I see it is working. When I put the drone outside, I quickly get a fix.

Hope this helps!

awesome, thank you. it works!

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #81 on: March 17, 2019, 10:53:30 PM »
Dear BerniApple,

On my FC (SP Racing F3 Deluxe) I just needed to wire UART2 like in attachment. Black to black, red to red, yellow from UART2 (3) to the orange from the GPS, and green from UART2 (4) to the blue wire from my GPS.

Inside my house, I don't get a fix, but in iNav I see it is working. When I put the drone outside, I quickly get a fix.

Hope this helps!

awesome, thank you. it works!


You're welcome. Curious to see your built!

Offline Yogo

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #82 on: March 18, 2019, 11:58:28 AM »
I'm really sorry I just don't have time at the moment and my printer is still in bits so I'm a bit stuck however I've just drawn them up again for you.
Try one of each and check motor fitment, prop fitment and pin fitment.
Let me know the changes and I'll repost modified ones until they're right.

First time I've ever shared printer files but hopefully they're ok.

Kananga, it worked! I needed to print them on 105%, but then it worked. I'll print 3 others now at see if they all fit. One weird thing is that one of the two holes for the pins from the upper part seems a fraction larger than the other one. So there the pin is a little bit loose, but all the other wholes fit well. I don't have that issue with the bottom part. They also fit the motors perfectly.

Wow Kananga, looks awesome. I follow your posts with foldingllama  :) while I collect parts for my build. Could you please share, how do you plan to place the antennas for receiver and FPV? In my build I plan to place it as in the original - in the front legs, now I am just trying customize legs to hold ESC and the antenna in the legs.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2019, 12:00:14 PM by Yogo »

Offline Kananga

  • Designer
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #83 on: March 18, 2019, 12:06:16 PM »
Folding Lama might help you better, mines stalled ATM while I build some foam planes lol.
There are some files on site somewhere that let you have escs in the arms.
I don't like running antennas with power lines so I'll not use the arms but I haven't looked where I'll route them elsewhere.

Offline Yogo

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #84 on: March 19, 2019, 12:21:16 PM »
Folding Lama might help you better, mines stalled ATM while I build some foam planes lol.
There are some files on site somewhere that let you have escs in the arms.
I don't like running antennas with power lines so I'll not use the arms but I haven't looked where I'll route them elsewhere.

I agree, antennas with power wires are not very friendly  :) Moreover, it is already full of stories with clones of Mavik and their problems with compass and gps. I have on the side of the scale a compact and flush folding case, which is easy to take with you, and on the other hand the functionality of a drone with a camera and gps. I do not exclude that you can somehow bring the antennas outside, at least make them foldable. Have ideas to modify bottom base part. Anyway, I'll open diary and share experience ;)

Offline BerniApple

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #85 on: March 20, 2019, 08:51:57 PM »
I need your help again... can't make sonar works. How did you connect it? Mine is an hcsr04

thanks in advance

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #86 on: March 21, 2019, 07:45:29 AM »
I need your help again... can't make sonar works. How did you connect it? Mine is an hcsr04

thanks in advance

BerniApple,

No problem. that's why the forum exists! I connected my sonar to IO_2; channel 5 and 6 + GND+ VCC.
You need a battery connected to power up the sonar.

Offline BerniApple

  • Drinks Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #87 on: March 25, 2019, 09:15:53 PM »
I need your help again... can't make sonar works. How did you connect it? Mine is an hcsr04

thanks in advance

BerniApple,

No problem. that's why the forum exists! I connected my sonar to IO_2; channel 5 and 6 + GND+ VCC.
You need a battery connected to power up the sonar.

did you use a resistor between channel 5 and the trigger?

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #88 on: March 26, 2019, 08:03:42 AM »
I need your help again... can't make sonar works. How did you connect it? Mine is an hcsr04

thanks in advance

BerniApple,

No problem. that's why the forum exists! I connected my sonar to IO_2; channel 5 and 6 + GND+ VCC.
You need a battery connected to power up the sonar.

did you use a resistor between channel 5 and the trigger?

No, not necessary. It works like this.

Offline foldingllama

  • Junior Designer
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Mavic clone... And so it begun... (by FoldingLlama)
« Reply #89 on: March 26, 2019, 10:33:19 PM »
LEDs are about to arrive.So I hope te be flying soon. Only problem is that the app for the FPV doesn't seem to run on my Motorola g4 (no UVC driver on that smartphone appearently). Moreover I can't get the OSD to work on iNav. SO posted that question on iNav Facebook.
But even without that, I hope to fly soon!